Travelling Historian: Belgium and France

Hello my Lovely Readers!

This week I am headed to Bruges and France for a mini Road Trip and Battlefields Tour. I am also going to try to start a “Travelling Historian” series, as I have a number of history related trips planned for the next few months. I’m also going to try to include some of the History related things I’ve already done, as I haven’t talked about many (or any) of them here yet, I don’t think.

I’m not sure how the series will go this week, since I’m not completely sure what my wifi situation will be each day, but I will do my best to post when I can. I’m also considering trying out a new format, and posting a video or too. We’ll see…

Life’s An Adventure!
Megra12

TRAVEL LOG #1001
LOCATIONS: Belgium (Flanders/Ypres) and Northern France (Vimy)
DATES: 6 April – 10 April
MODES OF TRANSPORTATION: Bus, Car, and Train
CATEGORY: War and Memory
ENTRY TYPE: Preliminary Report
OPERATIVE: Megra12
PURPOSE: Visit Battlefield locations, Cemeteries, and Monuments related to the Canadian Involvement in the First World War. Though there may be one or two locations that relate to the Second World War, the focus is the First World War.
The Belgium Day trip will include locations such as Passchendale, Tyne Cot Cemetery, Langemark (German war cemetery), St. Julien Canadian Memorial, and Sanctuary Wood (among others). The day will conclude with the Last Post Cemetery at The Menin Gate.
The France Day trip will be mostly focus on Vimy Ridge National Park, and the main event will be the Vimy Ridge Day Ceremonies (the 98th Anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge) at the Vimy Ridge Memorial. The day will also include a visit to Beaumont Hamel, and the Notre Dame de Lorette French Cemetery.
Megra12
Leave a Reply

